My work experience at Acorn Aspirations, week 2 — Katie

Acorn Aspirations
2 min readApr 11, 2017

--

On my second week of work experience with Acorn Aspirations, I shadowed Elena into a meeting at Runway East about UX for chatbots. It brought back a lot of memories, since that was the place where I attended my first ever hackathon!

After the meeting we walked to Google Campus, where Elena met her mentor. He took us to a cafe across the road for a meeting, and kindly bought us all hot drinks. I was given the task of editing the Acorn Accelerator trailer and replacing the old logo with the new one.

In the afternoon, I had the privilege of visiting Parliament! We attended an event hosted by ladies holding a variety of influential positions in STEM fields. The event was to discuss the shortage of women in STEM.

On Wednesday, Peter (who also attended the Accelerator) came to Wayra and we worked together on making a chatbot with real code. We experimented with our chatbot, deleting its whole library of knowledge and rebuilding it, teaching it to hold simple conversation.

I’m really grateful that Elena Sinel gave me this chance to do work experience with her, and I have thoroughly enjoyed it.

Originally published at Acorn Aspirations.

--

--

Acorn Aspirations

Powering the Next Generation of Thought Leaders, Innovators and Technologists in #AI @teensinai #TeensInAI #GirlsinAI #MCStartup2016 Founder @elenasinel